none
Calling a program with powershell

Question

• I am using powershell to call an executable, I want to be able to add the following. Proper error handling, I am reading powershell error handling but i am not an expert yet on it.

Below is what i have so far:

function StartCalculator {
     $procList = get-process Calculator -ea SilentlyContinue
     if (!$error) { $procList | stop-process }
     Invoke-Item c:\windows\system32\calc.exe
    }
    StartCalculator 

I now need to add a timeout limit as well, how can I do this and also tidy up the error handling.

Thanks in advance.

Wednesday, August 11, 2010 4:47 PM

Answers

• "Graceful" is somewhat subjective.  If you want graceful as in "the application is told to close nicely," then yes, CloseMainWindow is the way to go.  If you want graceful as in "the application stops. Now.  With no mess." then kill is your only option.

You should consider the following about CloseMainWindow

- It does not guarantee the process will exit.  It's the equivalent of doing File->Exit.  The program can prompt for user input if it likes (Do you want to save?), or really do anything at all, including plain ol' not quit.

- It only works for processes with a user interface.  If the app is a service or something, it won't work at all.

- It returns a boolean, so unless you want to emit a bool from this function, you should pipe to Out-Null, or set $null = $proc.CloseMainWindow().  Not that bad, but just a bit more code.

- You get a 2nd error thrown in the case that the program can't be started in the first place.  Kill (which is alias for Stop-Process btw) does not throw a 2nd error in this case, if the process object is piped to it.

Kill is the only way to end a non UI program, and the only sure way to end any other program.  It is true, though, that force-quitting could make the application unhappy/corrupt in some cases.