none
No network connection between multiple VM's RRS feed

• Question

• Hi folks hope you could help me.

Searched different fora but could not find a solution that was related to my problem?

Situation:
    I have 2 network cards in my machine. 1 broadcom used by the machine itself (not used by hyper V)

I used the second networkcard (Intel i219-V Gigabit) as my "external network" in the switchmanager so i could communicate between 3 VM's (server 2016) and a laptop hooked up directly with crosslink to the newtwork card.
    All 3 VM's use static Ip adresses, since 1 of the VM's is a DC with DHCP on it and should give network adres to laptop. (That works fine)

Reason for that being that i'm studying for SCCM 2016 and i need to deploy to real machine for testing bios WMI query's

Now my problem is that my connection between the VM's is showing "no connection", but once i put power on the laptop and thus also on the external network then the virtual networkcards from the VM's show connected.

This is really annoying since of course i want them also to be "connected" without the use of the external laptop.
    There is also no hardware switch being used.

It's like there is no virtual power on the virtual networkcards or no activity?
    Hope i explain myself in a usefull way?

Hope someone could give me a permanent fix or a workaround.

Thanks

• Edited by BelgianGuy Sunday, October 20, 2019 11:20 AM
    Sunday, October 20, 2019 11:06 AM

Answers

All replies

• This is really annoying since of course i want them also to be "connected" without the use of the external laptop. 

The external vSwitch the VMs use should be plugged into port of physical switch that provides route to internet. Domain controller and domain members should have the static ip address of DC. Internet queries would be passed on to 13 default root hint server in a top-level down fashion or optionally configured forwarders.

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional