Active Directory Recycle Bin Empty the Recycle Bin RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I'm running the following script to empty out the active directory recycle bin:

CLS
    Get-ADObject -Filter 'isDeleted -eq $true -and Name -like "*DEL:*"' -IncludeDeletedObjects | Remove-ADObject -Confirm:$false

However I keep getting an access denied on Remove-ADObject. I'm a Enterprise Admin.

Any thoughts on this?

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 6:08 AM

Answers

• Ok then,

Whats the point of saying you can empty the recycle bin, when you can't? It defeats the purpose of the recycle bin.

Consider the following before you gripe: If you recycle glass it never goes away.  Recycle means "keep and use forever".  You should be more environmentally conscious.

The recycle bin is owned by AD.  Once it is enabled it cannot be removed.  Objects are retained for a very long time to protect integrity and for historical reasons.

Many untrained techs love to write scripts to constantly empty the NTFS recycle bin. This is completely unnecessary even though it is possible.  It is a habit acquired from old Windows on old hardware when we always wanted to keep from running out of space.  Modern systems require that we carefully engineer everything to reduce maintenance and improve reliability. 

Be sure your AD is engineered correctly and the ADRB will never be an issue.

\_(ツ)_/

• Proposed as answer by Hello_2018 Wednesday, November 9, 2016 3:13 AM
    • Marked as answer by Hello_2018 Wednesday, November 9, 2016 3:13 AM
    Thursday, October 20, 2016 11:50 PM

All replies

• Hi,

This is probably your access permission issue, please check your account to have enough privilege.

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties and confers no rights! Always test ANY suggestion in a test environment before implementing! http://sesaitech.blogspot.in/

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 6:11 AM