none
How do I get the number of physical and virtual processors on a virtual server RRS feed

• Question

• I have a script from Jesse Hamrick that gathers information about servers that I am altering to suit my needs. one of the things I need to gather is the number of physical and virtual processes on a virtual server. I've looked around and really don't see exactly what I'm looking for. Can someone here point me in the right direction, please? I am very new to PowerShell.

Thank you!

• Edited by MS Norkett Thursday, October 31, 2013 1:36 PM
    Thursday, October 31, 2013 1:36 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Please try it out..

"" | Select @{n='TotalPhysicalProcessors';e={(,( gwmi Win32_Processor)).count}}, @{n='TotalPhysicalProcessorCores'; e={ (gwmi Win32_Processor | measure -Property NumberOfLogicalProcessors -sum).sum}}, @{n='TotalVirtualCPUs'; e={ (Get-VM | Get-VMProcessor | measure -Property Count -sum).sum }}, @{n='TotalVirtualCPUsInUse'; e={ (Get-VM | Where { $_.State -eq 'Running'} | Get-VMProcessor | measure -Property Count -sum).sum }}, @{n='TotalMSVMProcessors'; e={ (gwmi -ns root\virtualization\v2 MSVM_Processor).count }}, @{n='TotalMSVMProcessorsForVMs'; e={ (gwmi -ns root\virtualization\v2 MSVM_Processor -Filter "Description='Microsoft Virtual Processor'").count }}

I'm using W2012 R2 Hyper-V with "root\virtualization\v2"

In "MSVM_Processor" class, please note the host hypervisor also use Virtual CPUs. You can see in description property as "A logical processor of the hypervisor running on the host computer system.". In my lab, this (number of vCPUs used for hypervisor) is the same as total number of physical cpu cores.

In the above example, I also used Hyper-V PS module (Get-VM, Get-VMProcessor). You need to import the module first. Noticed that the following two give the same result.

(Get-VM | Where { $_.State -eq 'Running'} | Get-VMProcessor | measure -Property Count -sum).sum