none
New-WebBinding syntax to add SSL binding to specific IIS Web Site RRS feed

• Question

• I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong -- to be fair to myself the online support "New-Item" is pretty poor but I am new to this.

I'm trying to add an SSL binding to 1 of 3 web sites.  The script below works but it doesn't add the binding to the Host/Site that

I want.  What is the syntax to specify host name and site.

Here's the script I'm using

write-host "Delete binding"
    Get-WebBinding -Port 443 -Name "IdentityServer" | Remove-WebBinding
    write-host "create new binding"
    New-WebBinding -name "IdentityServer" -Protocol https -HostHeader "Identity-dev.acme.com" -Port 443 -SslFlags 1
    $cert = Get-ChildItem -Path Cert:\LocalMachine\My | where-Object {$_.subject -like "*acme.com*"} | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Thumbprint
    cd IIS:\SslBindings
    get-item -Path "cert:\localmachine\my\$cert" | New-Item 0.0.0.0!443!Identity-dev.acme.com

The result from the IIS:\SslBindings folder (not what I want):

IP Address          Port   Host Name        Store            Sites                           
    ----------          ----   ---------        -----            -----                           
    0.0.0.0             443                     my  

The result I'm looking for:

IP Address          Port   Host Name         Store         Sites                           
    ----------          ----   ---------         -----          -----                           
    0.0.0.0             443     Identity-dev.acme.com     my   IdentityServer

Thanks,

Tim

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 10:06 PM

Answers

• I finally figured it out.  Two points -Thumbprint parameter option was required for me scenario and the "*" fo for the IPAddress was required. Here's the line of script to fix this

New-Item -Path "IIS:\SslBindings\*!443!recruitdev.smashfly.com" -Thumbprint $certificate -SSLFlags 1

Thanks all,

• Marked as answer by Timhenn Wednesday, March 18, 2015 10:16 PM