none
AD RMS Installation fails

Question

• Hi,

I'm setting up AD RMS Test setup in my production domain.

My installation fails and i found that during setup of ADRMS Cluster, we get 2 options like below:

Create a new AD RMS cluster  and Join an existing AD RMS cluster.

In my domain option for "Join an existing AD RMS cluster" is not greyed out. I beleive this means we already have AD RMS setup in the environment and we can join to an existing setup.

My Questions:

How to find existing setup in the environment?

Can we have 2 AD RMS different setups in same domain?

Please suggest your feedback. I'm new to AD RMS.

Regards

Wednesday, October 06, 2010 7:12 AM

Answers

• Ok, now do one thing, add service account on ADRMS Server's local adminstrators group and and login and logoff on the same and then try, it will work
    Thanks and Regards, Vikas This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees , and confers no rights.
    Thursday, October 07, 2010 11:58 AM
  • Hi,

first of all, deleting a SCP is not a big thing. You can always recreate it (overwriting the former one of course) from the RMS MMC. Besides, you can use registry overrides to direct clients to a different RMS installation than the one registered in the SCP.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc755112.aspx

You can also leave the SCP and the old installation as they are and install a fresh RMS root cluster without registering the SCP. You then use registry overrides to work with your personal installation. In a productive environment this might not be what you want but it is a start for testing.

To find your RMS installation, check the contents of the SCP. The URL clients connect to is part of the SCP.

In dssite.msc right click the SCP node underneath the RightsManagementServices node and select Properties. Open the Attribute Editor tab and look for the ServiceBindingInformation attribute (this is all on W2K8R2). It should contain the URL of your RMS root cluster.