Domain Admins group does not automatically add to local Administrators group RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I just recently setup a test Windows 2008 domain with a new forest and DNS.  No major changes to the new domain so far.  I setup a user and added them into the Domain Admin group.  Then I setup a new server that I was going to use as a test print server.  I was successfully able to add the server to the new domain using the new account that I seutp and can see it in the Computers OU however, I've noticed that on the new server the Domain Admin group did not automatically add into the local Administrators group on the server.

I thought this was default by design.  Am I missing adding the Domain Admin group to something?  I verified that the group is added to BUILTIN\Administrators and while logging into the PDC as my new account I am a domain admin...  I've tried re-adding the server to the domain, running GPUPDATE and no luck.

Has anyone else experienced this or know how to resolve this?

Thank you for your help.
    Wednesday, December 9, 2009 4:58 PM

Answers

• I am running into the same issue. I cannot find the domain admin groups. Using windows server 2008 R2 as DC and a member server.  Need help with this issue !! I have UAC disabled. I cannot added domain accounts to the local Administrators group either !!

Dec 23 - After a lot of research here's what I found:

I had two VM's running Windows server 2008 R2. One was the domain controller and the other as a member joining the domain. I had installed the DC OS from disk. But for the member VM, I had copied the virtual disk from the  DC.  The member VM joins the domain successfully, but does not contain the Domain admin as part of the local administrators group nor can you add add a domain user or group to the local admin group. 

Resolution: