none
How to diskless boot guest PC from Hyper-v on network?

Question

• I'm sorry if this has been asked before but this is my first time doing this configuration and I need to get some things straight.

I have a Hyper-V Manager installed on a server with a Windows 7 virtual machine on it. I also have another client physical machine with no OS installed on it connected to the same network.

How can I get the client machine to boot into the Hyper-V's VM? How do I tell the client machine to recognize Hyper-v? And how can I tell Hyper-v to recognize the client machine?

Do I need anything else other than Hyper-V installed? Like PXE Network Booting enabled on the client's machine?

Thursday, April 25, 2013 9:52 AM

Answers

• I'm sorry if this has been asked before but this is my first time doing this configuration and I need to get some things straight.

I have a Hyper-V Manager installed on a server with a Windows 7 virtual machine on it. I also have another client physical machine with no OS installed on it connected to the same network.

How can I get the client machine to boot into the Hyper-V's VM? How do I tell the client machine to recognize Hyper-v? And how can I tell Hyper-v to recognize the client machine?

Do I need anything else other than Hyper-V installed? Like PXE Network Booting enabled on the client's machine?

Please see this blog:

http://windowsdiskless.wordpress.com/how-to/overview-of-solution/

It's a good place to start with iSCSI-based diskless booting. With your scenario your Hyper-V will host as a server to boot guest OS from. Then you can use RDP to actually implement VDI-like scenario connecting to VMs running directly on Hyper-V. That's how I would do it.

StarWind iSCSI SAN & NAS

Thursday, April 25, 2013 10:07 AM

All replies

Please see this blog:

http://windowsdiskless.wordpress.com/how-to/overview-of-solution/