none
Unsupported Cluster Configuration

Question

• While trying to migrate a win2000 box to hyper-v I made some changes to the cluster disk (going from a volume guid to a drive letter) The VM is up and running but with a snapshot take before I changed the volume to a drive letter. My hunch is that VMM is stating it is in an supported cluster configuration is because the snapshot location is still pointing to the volume guid, but the vm is running on a drive letter now. 

I don't need the snapshot now, the vm is running fine in it's current state. But I'm still new to Hyper-V and not quite sure how to fix the issue. I won't be able to access the data via volume guid as it is now a drive letter. I can view the snapshot directory while exploring the drive letter. Deleting the unneeded snapshot via Hyper-V will probably fail since the volume guid is inaccessible and I can't change the path of the snapshot location because one exists.

My thoughts are as follow....

1. Use the export / import to move to a new disk location?
                            2. Modify the xml file manually to change the location of the snapshots to the new drive lettter?

Thanks for any guidance

Chris

Friday, June 05, 2009 2:34 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

I am sorry that I am a little unclear as to the exact issue. To have a better understanding to the problem, please answer the following questions:

1. You mentioned that "made some changes to the cluster disk (going from a volume guid to a drive letter)". Please describe in detail how you perform the change.

2. Please describe in detail how you migrate the Windows 2000 box to Hyper-V. Was the Windows 2000 VM run on virtual server or VPC?

3. You mentioned that "The VM is up and running but with a snapshot take before I changed the volume to a drive letter." Do you mean that you create a snapshot before change the volume to a drive letter in Hyper-V?